NOT WHAT I PLANNED

Here’s a little window into who I am. I like planning. I like having a schedule. I like making lists and getting things done. I love it when things go according to plan. I am satisfied when I can tick things off the list – some might say I am an organised freak. It’s just so much nicer when you know what you’re doing step by step, but how many of you know when you ask God to be present in your everyday life, when you ask Him to be actively present in the small and big decisions in your life things don’t really go to your plan… In fact these things you wanted to have accomplished by a certain time are now totally off schedule. Your plans are now interrupted by God. Lately, my prayers to God have been something like this “Where are you God?” or simply “Why?” or I find myself telling Him “This is not how it’s supposed to go” (like I know better that the Creator of the ends of the world).

I’ve realised there are small things and big things that happen in our lives and we didn’t see it coming. We go through stuff in life that, quiet frankly, we didn’t plan. It could range anything from being stuck in traffic for 15 minutes to you facing a bigger problem such as not getting your dream job. You’ve done all you can do, but life just happens and for some reason things don’t go according to plan.

So what do you do when you face something you didn’t ask for? Something you didn’t necessarily plan for? How we respond when things don’t go to our plan is very important. I’m not even going to brush up the fact that it messes with you and rattles your whole world. It is easy to be cheerful when things are going well. It is easy to be joyful when all ducks are in line. However when things get out of hand, when everything is out of control its SO HARD to stay joyful. When you don’t understand, it is difficult to be optimistic.

Sometimes we stress over things we can’t physically do anything about. This has been me lately and I believe God has been teaching me to let go of control. He has been teaching me to stop worrying about things that are out of my control. He’s teaching me to do my part and leave the rest to Him – to do what only He can do. He’s teaching me to fully rely on Him and trust Him. To trust Him in the unknown, to believe even though I have no idea what the future holds. God’s teaching me to give over to Him. He’s teaching me to surrender.

The Bible tells us that God created us, He knew all the days ordained for us even before one of them came to be. Nothing is a surprise to him. In Jeremiah 29:11 we read that God knows the plans He has for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm, plans to give you a hope and a future. So basically God knows what He’s doing. You might find yourself in a situation that just doesn’t make sense, you didn’t plan for it and you have no idea where you’re headed. I’ve got news for you! God’s in control. His plans are not our plans. In fact His plans are WAY BETTER. There is no need to over think, there is no need to worry. You have God, the creator of all things, the God who created you, the powerful, Almighty, the script writer by your side. So when you plan and things don’t go according to your plan, remember this, in Proverbs 19:21 it says “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” He has a purpose in everything we go through in life – the good, the bad, the hurt, the pain, the joy all of it serve a purpose. Don’t be discouraged when things don’t go your way, thank God that He interrupts your day, your plans so that His purposes may prevail.

Whatever it is you are facing right now, I pray you’d lean into God and trust that He’s inviting you to be a part of His story, the purpose He has for you and His ways are far greater than ours.

He’s got it!

– Desarie x

One thought on “NOT WHAT I PLANNED

Leave a Reply

